{
 "version": "2026-10-20",
 "license": "Dimension sheets: CC BY 4.0. Standard and published-size files: CC BY 4.0. Xem Studio's own designs (files_license = Xem Studio Design License): free to use and sell things from, not to redistribute as files — https://xemstudio.com/license/. Other publishers' files: their own license, linked beside them.",
 "slug": "toggle-latches-gn-831-and-draw-latches",
 "name": "Toggle latches and draw latches: Ganter GN 831 size 100 dimensions and mounting, McMaster-Carr draw latch ranges, Southco catalog notes",
 "kind": "standard",
 "category": "Hardware",
 "group": "Hinges & latches",
 "year": null,
 "question": "What are the dimensions and mounting hole size of a GN 831 toggle latch, and what ranges do draw latches come in?",
 "tags": [
  "toggle latch",
  "draw latch",
  "gn 831",
  "ganter",
  "southco",
  "latch",
  "tension latch"
 ],
 "aliases": [
  "GN 831 toggle latch",
  "toggle latch dimensions",
  "draw latch dimensions",
  "tension latch size",
  "Spannverschluss GN 831",
  "toggle latch mounting hole",
  "Southco draw latch hole Ø4.3",
  "over-center latch dimensions",
  "draw latch pull range"
 ],
 "overall_mm": {
  "length": null,
  "width": null,
  "height": null
 },
 "official_cad": false,
 "xem_status": "not-scanned",
 "les": false,
 "free_files": 0,
 "url": "https://xemstudio.com/objects/toggle-latches-gn-831-and-draw-latches/",
 "sheet_txt": "https://xemstudio.com/objects/toggle-latches-gn-831-and-draw-latches/sheet.txt",
 "sheet": {
  "basis": "Ganter's GN 831 toggle latch page (size 100), the option lists on McMaster-Carr's draw latch page, and a Southco draw-latch catalog excerpt; numbers only",
  "overall_mm": {
   "length": null,
   "width": null,
   "height": null
  },
  "notes": [
   "Ganter GN 831 size 100, in the symbols and order Ganter prints (no units printed; mm assumed from the decimal-comma values): holding capacity FH 1000 N; b1 25.5, b2 22, b3 26, b4 14, d 4.2; h1 18.5, h2 8.5, h3 21.5, h4 25.5; l1 min 67 (types A and SV) or 74 (type S), l2 min 56 or 63; l3 19.5; l4 min 31 or 38 and l5 min 54 or 61 (coding 2); m1 14.3, m2 7, m3 4, m4 8; r 51; w1 ≈ 5.5 (stroke) and w2 ≈ 12 (A, SV) or 8 (S) (adjustable range). The page does not label any column as hook, bolt, mounting hole or closing, so d = 4.2 is not called a hole size here. It describes the clamping hook as pulling parts together 'by up to 5 mm' while the table lists w1 ≈ 5.5, and never defines 'coding 1 / 2', so these are shown as printed. Only size 100 appeared in the table the filter returned; other GN 831 sizes are not shown.",
   "McMaster-Carr's draw latch page prints option lists, not part rows: overall length 1-7/16 to 2-3/4 in, overall width 1/2 to 5 in, projection 1/16 to 2-3/8 in, latching distance 3/16 to 1-13/16 in, mounting screws No. 2 to 5/16 in and M3 to M10, and weight capacity bins; strike plate material is listed but no strike plate or hole spacing dimension. The page does not say which values go together; use the part page for a particular latch.",
   "The Southco numbers are caption values from a draw-latch catalog excerpt hosted by NauticExpo (the host page titles it 'C7 draw latch'): four Ø4.3 mm mounting holes, Ø4 rivets or M4 screws for the small size and Ø5 rivets or M5 screws for the large, clamping force 49 N (small) and 176 N (large). The excerpt did not print part numbers, so which latch each value belongs to is not stated; they are quoted only as read. Southco's own tables were not read.",
   "Hold-down toggle clamps are on toggle-clamps-hold-down; push-to-open latches on drill-in-push-to-open-latches and southco-93-push-to-close-latch; magnetic touch latches on sugatsune-lamp-touch-latches. No file: the hook, lever and catch shapes are not given as numbers. McMaster-Carr sells draw latches and toggle latch clamps with per-part STEP; linked, not copied."
  ],
  "table": {
   "columns": [
    "source",
    "load / force",
    "widths, diameters",
    "heights",
    "lengths, travel"
   ],
   "rows": [
    [
     "Ganter GN 831 size 100 (table 1)",
     "FH 1000 N",
     "b1 25.5; b2 22; b3 26; b4 14; d 4.2",
     "h1 18.5; h2 8.5; h3 21.5; h4 25.5",
     "l1 min 67 (A / SV), 74 (S); l2 min 56 (A / SV), 63 (S)"
    ],
    [
     "Ganter GN 831 size 100 (table 2)",
     "—",
     "l3 19.5; l4 min 31 (A / SV), 38 (S); l5 min 54 (A / SV), 61 (S)",
     "m1 14.3; m2 7; m3 4; m4 8; r 51",
     "w1 ≈ 5.5 (stroke); w2 ≈ 12 (A / SV), 8 (S) (adjustable range)"
    ],
    [
     "McMaster-Carr draw latches (option lists, in)",
     "weight capacity bins: under 500 lb to 3,000 lb and over; or not rated",
     "overall length: 1-7/16, 1-5/8, 1-3/4, 1-7/8, 2, 2-1/16 ... 2-23/32, 2-3/4",
     "overall width: 1/2, 9/16, 11/16, 3/4 ... 4, 4-1/2, 5 in",
     "projection: 1/16 to 2-3/8; latching distance: 3/16 to 1-13/16; mounting screws No. 2 to 1/4, 5/16, M3 to M10"
    ],
    [
     "Southco draw latch excerpt (catalog caption values)",
     "clamping force: small 49 N (11 lbf); large 176 N (40 lbf)",
     "four mounting holes Ø4.3 mm; Ø4 rivets or M4 (No. 8) screws (small); Ø5 rivets or M5 (No. 10) screws (large)",
     "latched dimension 15.1 mm (.60 in); latch assembly 164 mm (6.45 in); keeper installation 17.5 ±0.1 and 72 ±3 mm (unlabelled)",
     "part number-to-size link not printed"
    ]
   ]
  }
 },
 "sheet_text": "Toggle latches and draw latches: Ganter GN 831 size 100 dimensions and mounting, McMaster-Carr draw latch ranges, Southco catalog notes — dimension sheet\nSource: Xem Studio, https://xemstudio.com/objects/toggle-latches-gn-831-and-draw-latches/  (sheet CC BY 4.0)\nBasis: Ganter's GN 831 toggle latch page (size 100), the option lists on McMaster-Carr's draw latch page, and a Southco draw-latch catalog excerpt; numbers only\nCatalog version: 2026-10-20\n\nSizes: see table below\n- Ganter GN 831 size 100, in the symbols and order Ganter prints (no units printed; mm assumed from the decimal-comma values): holding capacity FH 1000 N; b1 25.5, b2 22, b3 26, b4 14, d 4.2; h1 18.5, h2 8.5, h3 21.5, h4 25.5; l1 min 67 (types A and SV) or 74 (type S), l2 min 56 or 63; l3 19.5; l4 min 31 or 38 and l5 min 54 or 61 (coding 2); m1 14.3, m2 7, m3 4, m4 8; r 51; w1 ≈ 5.5 (stroke) and w2 ≈ 12 (A, SV) or 8 (S) (adjustable range). The page does not label any column as hook, bolt, mounting hole or closing, so d = 4.2 is not called a hole size here. It describes the clamping hook as pulling parts together 'by up to 5 mm' while the table lists w1 ≈ 5.5, and never defines 'coding 1 / 2', so these are shown as printed. Only size 100 appeared in the table the filter returned; other GN 831 sizes are not shown.\n- McMaster-Carr's draw latch page prints option lists, not part rows: overall length 1-7/16 to 2-3/4 in, overall width 1/2 to 5 in, projection 1/16 to 2-3/8 in, latching distance 3/16 to 1-13/16 in, mounting screws No. 2 to 5/16 in and M3 to M10, and weight capacity bins; strike plate material is listed but no strike plate or hole spacing dimension. The page does not say which values go together; use the part page for a particular latch.\n- The Southco numbers are caption values from a draw-latch catalog excerpt hosted by NauticExpo (the host page titles it 'C7 draw latch'): four Ø4.3 mm mounting holes, Ø4 rivets or M4 screws for the small size and Ø5 rivets or M5 screws for the large, clamping force 49 N (small) and 176 N (large). The excerpt did not print part numbers, so which latch each value belongs to is not stated; they are quoted only as read. Southco's own tables were not read.\n- Hold-down toggle clamps are on toggle-clamps-hold-down; push-to-open latches on drill-in-push-to-open-latches and southco-93-push-to-close-latch; magnetic touch latches on sugatsune-lamp-touch-latches. No file: the hook, lever and catch shapes are not given as numbers. McMaster-Carr sells draw latches and toggle latch clamps with per-part STEP; linked, not copied.\n\nsource  load / force  widths, diameters  heights  lengths, travel\nGanter GN 831 size 100 (table 1)  FH 1000 N  b1 25.5; b2 22; b3 26; b4 14; d 4.2  h1 18.5; h2 8.5; h3 21.5; h4 25.5  l1 min 67 (A / SV), 74 (S); l2 min 56 (A / SV), 63 (S)\nGanter GN 831 size 100 (table 2)  —  l3 19.5; l4 min 31 (A / SV), 38 (S); l5 min 54 (A / SV), 61 (S)  m1 14.3; m2 7; m3 4; m4 8; r 51  w1 ≈ 5.5 (stroke); w2 ≈ 12 (A / SV), 8 (S) (adjustable range)\nMcMaster-Carr draw latches (option lists, in)  weight capacity bins: under 500 lb to 3,000 lb and over; or not rated  overall length: 1-7/16, 1-5/8, 1-3/4, 1-7/8, 2, 2-1/16 ... 2-23/32, 2-3/4  overall width: 1/2, 9/16, 11/16, 3/4 ... 4, 4-1/2, 5 in  projection: 1/16 to 2-3/8; latching distance: 3/16 to 1-13/16; mounting screws No. 2 to 1/4, 5/16, M3 to M10\nSouthco draw latch excerpt (catalog caption values)  clamping force: small 49 N (11 lbf); large 176 N (40 lbf)  four mounting holes Ø4.3 mm; Ø4 rivets or M4 (No. 8) screws (small); Ø5 rivets or M5 (No. 10) screws (large)  latched dimension 15.1 mm (.60 in); latch assembly 164 mm (6.45 in); keeper installation 17.5 ±0.1 and 72 ±3 mm (unlabelled)  part number-to-size link not printed\n\nFiles elsewhere (not hosted by Xem Studio; license as stated by the publisher):\n- Ganter: GN 831 toggle latches, steel / stainless steel: size 100, holding capacity FH, b1 to b4, d, h1 to h4, l1 to l5, m1 to m4, r, w1, w2 (types A, SV, S) — web — Maker product page; numbers only. Only size 100 appears in the filtered table; no units printed — https://www.ganternorm.com/en/products/product-family/Stainless-Steel/GN-831-Toggle-latches-Steel-Stainless-Steel\n- McMaster-Carr: Draw latches (free STEP/IGES per part, for your own design use; no redistribution) — STEP, IGES, PDF — McMaster-Carr site terms: personal design use, no redistribution [verify license at link] — https://www.mcmaster.com/draw-latches\n- McMaster-Carr: Toggle latch clamps (free STEP/IGES per part, for your own design use; no redistribution) — STEP, IGES, PDF — McMaster-Carr site terms: personal design use, no redistribution [verify license at link] — https://www.mcmaster.com/products/toggle-latch-clamps/\n- Southco (via a catalog excerpt): Draw latch catalog excerpt: mounting holes Ø4.3 (4 holes), M4 / Ø4 rivets (small), M5 / Ø5 rivets (large), clamping force 49 N (small) and 176 N (large) — web — Catalog excerpt; used for the quoted notes only — https://pdf.nauticexpo.com/pdf/southco/c7-draw-latch/22514-91219.html\n\nNo true-size file yet: the published figures do not fix the whole shape; a measured scan is planned.\nAPI: https://xemstudio.com/api/geometry?object=toggle-latches-gn-831-and-draw-latches\n",
 "sources": [
  {
   "publisher": "Ganter",
   "title": "GN 831 toggle latches, steel / stainless steel: size 100, holding capacity FH, b1 to b4, d, h1 to h4, l1 to l5, m1 to m4, r, w1, w2 (types A, SV, S)",
   "url": "https://www.ganternorm.com/en/products/product-family/Stainless-Steel/GN-831-Toggle-latches-Steel-Stainless-Steel",
   "formats": [
    "web"
   ],
   "license": "Maker product page; numbers only. Only size 100 appears in the filtered table; no units printed",
   "license_verified": true,
   "hosted": false
  },
  {
   "publisher": "McMaster-Carr",
   "title": "Draw latches (free STEP/IGES per part, for your own design use; no redistribution)",
   "url": "https://www.mcmaster.com/draw-latches",
   "formats": [
    "STEP",
    "IGES",
    "PDF"
   ],
   "license": "McMaster-Carr site terms: personal design use, no redistribution",
   "license_verified": false,
   "hosted": false
  },
  {
   "publisher": "McMaster-Carr",
   "title": "Toggle latch clamps (free STEP/IGES per part, for your own design use; no redistribution)",
   "url": "https://www.mcmaster.com/products/toggle-latch-clamps/",
   "formats": [
    "STEP",
    "IGES",
    "PDF"
   ],
   "license": "McMaster-Carr site terms: personal design use, no redistribution",
   "license_verified": false,
   "hosted": false
  },
  {
   "publisher": "Southco (via a catalog excerpt)",
   "title": "Draw latch catalog excerpt: mounting holes Ø4.3 (4 holes), M4 / Ø4 rivets (small), M5 / Ø5 rivets (large), clamping force 49 N (small) and 176 N (large)",
   "url": "https://pdf.nauticexpo.com/pdf/southco/c7-draw-latch/22514-91219.html",
   "formats": [
    "web"
   ],
   "license": "Catalog excerpt; used for the quoted notes only",
   "license_verified": true,
   "hosted": false
  }
 ],
 "xem": {
  "status": "not-scanned",
  "sheet_free": true,
  "mesh_price_usd": null,
  "step_price_usd": null,
  "tolerance_mm": null
 },
 "related": [
  "toggle-clamps-hold-down",
  "drill-in-push-to-open-latches",
  "southco-93-push-to-close-latch",
  "sugatsune-lamp-touch-latches",
  "blum-tip-on-for-doors",
  "butt-hinges-sizes-and-leaf-widths",
  "continuous-piano-hinges"
 ],
 "fits": [],
 "dimensions": "exact (nominal, no tolerance added)",
 "dimension_rule": "All geometry on Xem Studio is exact (nominal, true size) with no tolerance added. Where a part meets another part, the object lists its mating features (feature, exact size, what it mates with, fit class: press, slide, run, socket, clamp or designed). Apply your process's allowance to those features only; 'designed' gaps are part of the design and stay as drawn. Typical accuracy by process and ISO 286 fits: https://xemstudio.com/tolerances/",
 "mating": [
  {
   "feature": "mounting",
   "exact": "Ganter GN 831 size 100: b1 25.5, b2 22, b3 26, d 4.2 (symbols not defined on the page)",
   "mates": "panel or frame; hole positions per Ganter's drawing",
   "fit": "designed",
   "files": "all"
  }
 ],
 "fit_classes": {
  "press": "stays put: pin, tube, bearing or magnet held by interference. ISO 286 equivalent: H7/p6 (locational interference) or tighter.",
  "slide": "assembles by hand and is held by a grub, pinch or clamp: shaft in a hub, rod in a socket, spigot in a bore. ISO 286 equivalent: H7/g6 or H7/h6.",
  "run": "turns or slides in use: pin in a link, rod through a guide. ISO 286 equivalent: H8/f7 (close running).",
  "socket": "large sliding fit: syringe barrel, sleeve, bobbin in a bore. ISO 286 equivalent: H9/d9 (free running) or looser.",
  "clamp": "split part that closes on the mating part with screws: make it at size.",
  "designed": "a gap that is part of the design (piston fit option, displacer gap, air gap): do not change."
 },
 "faq": [
  {
   "q": "What is the holding capacity of a GN 831 size 100 toggle latch?",
   "a": "FH = 1000 N on Ganter's page; stroke w1 ≈ 5.5 and adjustable range w2 ≈ 12 (types A, SV) or 8 (type S)."
  },
  {
   "q": "What mounting hole size does a Southco draw latch use?",
   "a": "The catalog excerpt read prints four Ø4.3 mm mounting holes with M4 or Ø4 rivets for the small size and M5 or Ø5 for the large; its part numbers are not printed, so check the latch's own sheet."
  },
  {
   "q": "What is the difference between a toggle clamp and a toggle latch?",
   "a": "Hold-down toggle clamps (toggle-clamps-hold-down) press a work piece down; toggle (draw) latches pull a lid or door shut. Both are linked on this page."
  }
 ],
 "files_license": null,
 "offers": [],
 "markdown": "https://xemstudio.com/objects/toggle-latches-gn-831-and-draw-latches/index.md"
}