# IEC 60320 appliance couplers: C13 / C14, C5 / C6, C7 / C8, C15 / C16, C17 / C18, C19 / C20, C21 to C24 (pin spacing, ratings, snap-in panel numbers)

> What is the pin spacing of a C13 / C14 and a C19 / C20, what do the C-numbers mean, and what panel cutout does an inlet need?

- Category: Electronic components › Connectors
- Kind: Standard part
- Basis: IEC 60320-1 as tabulated by Wikipedia and Interpower's coupler sheet, plus Interpower, Farnell and Schurter datasheet text for panel numbers; numbers only
- Page: https://xemstudio.com/objects/iec-60320-appliance-couplers-c13-c14-c19-c20/ · JSON: https://xemstudio.com/api/geometry?object=iec-60320-appliance-couplers-c13-c14-c19-c20 · Plain text: https://xemstudio.com/objects/iec-60320-appliance-couplers-c13-c14-c19-c20/sheet.txt
- License: dimension sheet CC BY 4.0 (Xem Studio); files CC BY 4.0 or their publisher's license
- Use in every chat: add https://xemstudio.com/mcp as a connector (https://xemstudio.com/use-with-ai/)

**Exact dimensions.** Every file is drawn at true size with no tolerance added. The holes and pins that meet another part are listed below under Mating features, with the fit each joint needs; open those by your process's clearance before making the part.

## Notes

- IEC 60320-1 appliance couplers come in pairs: a connector on a cord (C13) and an inlet on the equipment (C14). The pin-spacing column is the centre-to-centre spacing between the line and neutral pins: for the earthed pairs it is given horizontal (H) and vertical (V) as Wikipedia prints it from the standard. C13 / C14 is 14 mm × 4 mm, C19 / C20 is 13 mm × 8 mm, C5 / C6 (cloverleaf) 10 mm × 4.5 mm and C7 / C8 (figure 8) 8.6 mm.
- The letters A to L are the interconnection couplers (a plug connector on the equipment and an appliance outlet on the cord, the same pin layout as the C-pair beside them in the table above). Interpower's sheet pairs C5 / C6 with A, B; C7 / C8 with C, D; C13 / C14 with E, F; C17 / C18 with G, H; C19 / C20 with I, J; C23 / C24 with K, L and does not map the others. Wikipedia's table gives the same pin spacing for the pairs (A / B 10 × 4.5, C / D 8.6, E / F 14 × 4, G / H 14, I / J 13 × 8, K / L 13). M to R (high-temperature interconnection types from a 2022 amendment) are not tabulated here.
- The 10 A international ratings are 15 A in North America (UL / CSA 60320-3) and the 16 A types are 20 A there; the sheet gives all couplers at 250 V AC maximum. C3 / C4 and C11 / C12 are withdrawn.
- Panel cutouts: the numbers printed as text by makers. They disagree with each other (20 × 27.5 on Interpower; 28.8 or 29.6 × 19.4 on one Farnell-hosted datasheet; the panel-cutouts page has 27.5 × 19.5 and notes 27.4 × 19.4 on some drawings), so no single cutout gauge is drawn. The cutout depends on the maker and the mounting (snap-in or screw), so use the one on the datasheet of the inlet you buy. The C20 and C8 cutout numbers are in the Schurter drawings but the text read does not say which number is which.
- Left out: pin width and thickness, shell outlines and the slot positions of the connectors: they are in the paid IEC 60320-1 and were not published in the sources read. No files are drawn for that reason.
- The C14 inlet and C13 outlet cutouts with their screw holes are on the page panel-cutouts.

## Mating features (exact size; open press / slide / run / socket by your process clearance, leave designed and clamp as drawn)

| feature | exact | mates with | fit | files |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| C13 connector pins | 14 mm (H) × 4 mm (V) centres, 10 A (15 A NA), 70 °C | C14 inlet (same spacing) | designed | all |
| C19 connector pins | 13 mm (H) × 8 mm (V) centres, 16 A (20 A NA), 70 °C | C20 inlet | designed | all |
| C5 connector pins | 10 mm (H) × 4.5 mm (V) centres, 2.5 A | C6 inlet (cloverleaf) | designed | all |
| C7 connector pins | 8.6 mm centres, 2.5 A, unearthed | C8 inlet (figure 8) | designed | all |
| C15 connector pins | 14 mm (H) × 4 mm (V) centres, 120 °C | C16 inlet | designed | all |
| C17 connector pins | 14 mm centres, 10 A, unearthed | C18 inlet | designed | all |

## Sizes

| connector / inlet | max current (A) | max pin temperature (°C) | earth contact | polarised | appliance class | pin spacing, centres (mm) | interconnection pair beside it (Interpower) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| C1 (connector) / C2 (inlet) | 0.2 | 70 | no | no | II | 6.6 | not stated |
| C3 (connector) / C4 (inlet) | 2.5 | 70 | no | yes | II | 10 | not stated |
| C5 (connector) / C6 (inlet) | 2.5 | 70 | yes | yes | I | 10 (H), 4.5 (V) | A / B |
| C7 (connector) / C8 (inlet) | 2.5 | 70 | no | no | II | 8.6 | C / D |
| C9 (connector) / C10 (inlet) | 6 | 70 | no | no | II | 10 | not stated |
| C11 (connector) / C12 (inlet) | 10 | 70 | no | yes | II | 10 | not stated |
| C13 (connector) / C14 (inlet) | 10 | 70 | yes | yes | I | 14 (H), 4 (V) | E / F |
| C15 (connector) / C16 (inlet) | 10 | 120 | yes | yes | I | 14 (H), 4 (V) | not stated |
| C15A (connector) / C16A (inlet) | 10 | 155 | yes | yes | I | 14 (H), 4 (V) | not stated |
| C17 (connector) / C18 (inlet) | 10 | 70 | no | yes | II | 14 | G / H |
| C19 (connector) / C20 (inlet) | 16 | 70 | yes | yes | I | 13 (H), 8 (V) | I / J |
| C21 (connector) / C22 (inlet) | 16 | 155 | yes | yes | I | 13 (H), 8 (V) | not stated |
| C23 (connector) / C24 (inlet) | 16 | 70 | no | yes | II | 13 | K / L |
| panel cutout: C14, C16, C18 snap-in inlet | 20 × 27.5 mm | panel 1.0, 1.5, 2.0, 3.0 mm | - | - | - | - | Interpower; the same cutout for all three |
| panel cutout: C14 / C18 snap-in inlet (Farnell-hosted datasheet) | 28.8 × 19.4 mm for 0.8 to 1.5 mm panels; 29.6 × 19.4 mm for 1.6 to 2.0 mm panels | panel 0.8 to 2.0 mm | - | - | - | - | maker not named in the text read; two bands |
| panel cutout: C20 snap-in inlet (Schurter 1624) | not read (the drawing's numbers are not labelled in the text) | panel 1.5, 2.0, 2.5 mm (the order code also allows 3.0) | - | - | - | - | Schurter data sheet |
| panel cutout: C8 snap-in inlet (Schurter 2578) | not read (cutout numbers are not labelled in the text) | panel 1.5, 2.0, 2.5, 3.0 mm; a 1.0 mm variant has its own cutout | - | - | - | - | Schurter data sheet |

## Where the files are

- Interpower: [IEC 60320 coupler sheet: C-numbers, standard sheet pairs (A to L), current families](https://www.interpower.com/docs/iec_60320_coupler_sheet.pdf) — web — Publisher's page; dimensions are facts
- Wikipedia: [IEC 60320: appliance and interconnection coupler tables (max current, pin temperature, earth, polarised, class, pin spacing)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEC_60320) — web — Publisher's page; dimensions are facts
- Interpower: [IEC 60320 C14, C16 and C18 snap-in inlets: panel cutout 20 x 27.5 mm, panel thickness 1.0 / 1.5 / 2.0 / 3.0 mm](https://interpower.com/ic/news/interpower-iec-60320-c14-c16-and-c18-snap-in-inlets.html) — web — Publisher's page; dimensions are facts
- Farnell (datasheet 2612262): [IEC appliance inlet C14 / C18: panel cutout table by panel thickness (maker not named in the text read)](https://www.farnell.com/datasheets/2612262.pdf) — web — Publisher's page; dimensions are facts
- Schurter: [Type 1624: appliance inlet C20 acc. to IEC 60320-1, snap-in panel thickness 1.5 / 2 / 2.5 mm (datasheet and drawing)](https://www.schurter.com/pdf/english/typ_1624.pdf) — web — Maker data sheet; numbers only
- Schurter (enika.cz copy): [Type 2578: appliance inlet C8 acc. to IEC 60320-1, snap-in panel thickness 1.5 / 2 / 2.5 / 3 mm, 1.0 mm variant](https://www.enika.cz/data/files/typ_2578.pdf) — web — Maker data sheet copy; numbers only
- Schurter (product catalogue): [Type 1624 C20 inlet: datasheet page of the maker's catalogue (the maker's own drawing is here)](https://catalogue.schurter.com/en/datasheet/1624) — web — Maker catalogue; numbers only

## Questions

**What is the difference between C13 and C19?**

C13 / C14 is rated 10 A (15 A North America) with pins 14 mm × 4 mm; C19 / C20 is 16 A (20 A North America) with pins 13 mm × 8 mm.

**What does a C14 inlet mate with?**

A C13 connector. The C16 inlet (120 °C pins) is the pair of the C15 connector.

**What is a C7 / C8 connector?**

The unearthed 2.5 A figure-8 pair, pin spacing 8.6 mm, class II.

**What cutout does a C14 snap-in inlet need?**

20 × 27.5 mm for Interpower's inlets, 1.0 to 3.0 mm panels; other makers print other numbers, so check the datasheet.

## Fits with

- [Panel cutouts: IEC inlet, rockers, barrel jack, USB-C, HDMI, LEDs, Neutrik D](https://xemstudio.com/objects/panel-cutouts/)
- [Standard cable and plug sizes: USB-C, USB-A, Micro-B, Lightning, HDMI, RJ45, DC barrel, cable and power-cord diameters](https://xemstudio.com/objects/cable-and-plug-sizes/)
- [NEMA plug and receptacle configurations: 1-15, 5-15, 5-20, 6-15, 6-20, 14-30, 14-50, L5-30, L14-30 (blade numbers as published)](https://xemstudio.com/objects/nema-plug-receptacle-configurations/)
- [Rocker switch panel cutouts: KCD1-style 19.3 × 13, 22 × 30 mm, Carling Contura / APEM KG 36.8 × 21.1 + cutout gauge](https://xemstudio.com/objects/rocker-switch-panel-cutouts/)
- [FASTON-type quick-connect tabs: 4.8 mm (.187) and 6.35 mm (.250) tab width and thickness (IEC 61210)](https://xemstudio.com/objects/faston-quick-connect-tabs/)
- [AWG wire gauge table (ASTM B258): 4/0 to 56 AWG, diameter in mils, inches and mm, area in circular mils and mm²](https://xemstudio.com/objects/awg-wire-gauge-table-astm-b258/)
