Library › Electronic components › Panel cutouts ·

Pushbutton and pilot light panel holes: 12.2, 16.2, 19.2, 22.2, 22.3, 25, 30 and 30.5 mm, panel thickness + hole gauges

What panel hole does a 12, 16, 19, 22 or 30 mm pushbutton or pilot light need, and how thick can the panel be? · Standard part · basis: APEM AV and 1200 series sheets, Omron A22 mounting page, a Fuji Electric 30 mm sheet, Bulgin catalog pages and Eaton / Schneider listing titles, as read; two hole gauge plates as files

Also called: 22mm pushbutton hole size, 22.3 mm panel cutout, 16mm push button hole, 19mm push button hole size, 30mm push button hole 30.5, 12mm push button hole 12.2, pilot light 22mm panel cutout, pushbutton panel thickness, 22mm pushbutton keyway notch, apem av panel cutout, omron a22 cutout, push button hole gauge stl

Exact dimensions. Every file is drawn at true size with no tolerance added. The holes and pins that meet another part are listed below under Mating features, with the fit each joint needs; open those by your process's clearance before making the part. Mating features

length
137.8 mm
width
42.5 mm
height
3.0 mm

Notes

  • Panel pushbuttons and pilot lights are named by hole size: 12, 16, 19, 22 (IEC 60947-5-1 style), 25 and 30 mm. The printed holes differ by maker by a few tenths: APEM 12.2, 16.2, 19.2, 22.2 (and 24.2); Omron 22.3 (+0.4 / 0), 25 (+0.5 / 0), 30 (+0.4 / 0); Fuji 30.5. 22.2 and 22.3 are different makers' holes for the same '22 mm' size; the tolerance means the Omron hole may be up to 22.7 mm. The existing page 16mm-arcade-button lists rounded 12.2 / 16.2 / 19.2 / 22.3 / 24 / 30 mm holes; the APEM and Omron figures here agree with it.
  • Panel thickness: APEM max 6 mm (16 mm bushing), up to 11 mm (19 and 22 mm, model-dependent, minimum 1 mm); Omron 1 to 5 mm at 22.3 and 25 mm, 1 to 3 mm at 30 mm; Fuji 1.0 to 6.0 mm at 30.5; Bulgin 7000 0.8 to 2.5 or 5.0 mm. Check the sheet of the exact device: thickness changes by model.
  • Anti-rotation: Omron and Fuji print a notch / location hole, but the extracted text of both gives only unlabeled numbers (Omron 3.2 (+0.2 / 0) and 24.1 (+0.4 / 0); Fuji 4.8 mm x 33 mm for a key washer or legend plate), so the notch is shown as printed and not drawn. APEM prints no flat for the 16 and 19 mm sizes; its flatted 22 mm bushing (AVM2 / AVM3) shows a dimension 10.00 that is not defined. Eight millimetre panel buttons: no maker sheet with a printed hole was found, so 8 mm is not tabulated.
  • Files: two plates with true round holes (APEM 12.2 / 16.2 / 19.2 / 22.2 and Omron / Fuji 22.3 / 25 / 30 / 30.5). The plate is 3 mm thick; spacing and corner radius are Xem's choices. The nominal diameter is drawn (the lower limit of the Omron holes); add your own process clearance.
  • Maker CAD for each device is linked from the maker, not copied. Related: panel-cutouts (IEC inlets, rockers, LEDs), rocker-switch-panel-cutouts, led-panel-holders-clips-3mm-5mm, tactile-switches.

Pushbutton and pilot light panel holes: 12.2, 16.2, 19.2, 22.2… size chart

maker / seriessizepanel hole (as printed)panel thicknessnotes (nut, notch, flat)source
APEM 1200 (12 mm)1212.2 mmnot specifiedM12 x 0.75 bush thread (RS listing for 1213C)APEM 1200 listing
Bulgin MMP0120 (12 mm)1212 mm 'cutout' in the listing title onlynot readno maker sheet with a number was read; the Bulgin catalog names 12 mm as an industry mounting diameterBulgin catalog / RS titles
APEM AV (16 mm bushing)1616.2 mm (.637 in)1 to 6 mm (6 mm max; min 1 mm)hex nut 19 mm across flats (AV0630 page); no anti-rotation flat printedAPEM AV sheets
APEM AV (19 mm bushing)1919.2 mm (.755 in)11 mm max (anti-vandal, standard security), 9 mm (latching, some NC / NO), 6 mm (illuminated, overmolded, snap-action); min 1 mmno anti-rotation flat printedAPEM AV sheets
APEM AV (22 mm bushing)2222.2 mm (.874 in)11 mm max (momentary NO), 9 mm (latching), 6 mm (illuminated NC / NO, large actuator, mushroom); min 1 mmflatted-bushing versions AVM2 / AVM3 show 'Ø22.20' with a dimension 10.00 (.393) whose meaning is not statedAPEM AV sheets
APEM AV large actuator (24 mm bushing)2424.2 mm (.952 in), or 22.2 mm as an alternative6 mm max; min 1 mmnot statedAPEM AV sheets
Omron A22 / A22NE (IEC 22 mm)22.322.3 mm, +0.4 / 01 to 5 mmcorner radius R0.8 max; drawing prints 3.2 (+0.2 / 0) and 24.1 (+0.4 / 0) without a label that was readable; nut torque 1.0 to 2.0 N mOmron A22 datasheet p. 26
Omron (25 mm hole on the same page)2525 mm, +0.5 / 01 to 5 mmsame page as the 22.3 mm holeOmron A22 datasheet p. 26
Omron (30 mm hole on the same page)3030 mm, +0.4 / 01 to 3 mmsame page as the 22.3 mm holeOmron A22 datasheet p. 26
Fuji Electric 30 mm metal pushbutton (title as read)30.530.5 mm (tolerance sign lost in the text extraction)1.0 to 6.0 mm (.04 to .24 in)'location hole' 4.8 mm x 33 mm for the key washer or legend plate; not needed without one; r max 0.8 mm printed in the drawingFuji 30 mm sheet
Bulgin 7000 series25 / 2725.0 mm round, or 27.2 x 22.3 mm0.8 to 2.5 mm (type A); 0.8 to 5.0 mm (types F, G, H)weatherproof housing mounting hole 38.0 mmBulgin catalog
Eaton M22 / Schneider XB5 (RS Components titles)2222.5 mm 'cutout' in the listing titles onlynot readlisting titles, not a maker sheet; IEC 22 mm devices are commonly cut 22.3 mm, which is Omron's figureRS listing titles

Mating features

Drawn at the exact size. Open press, slide, run and socket features by your process's clearance (tolerances by process); leave designed gaps and clamp fits as drawn.

featureexactmates withfitfiles
panel holes 12.2 / 16.2 / 19.2 / 22.2 mm (file pushbutton-hole-gauge-12p2)round holes, APEM panel cut-outsAPEM 1200 (12.2) and AV (16.2, 19.2, 22.2) threaded-bushing pushbuttonsslidepushbutton-hole-gauge-12p2*
panel holes 22.3 / 25 / 30 / 30.5 mm (file pushbutton-hole-gauge-22p3)round holes: Omron 22.3, 25, 30 (+0.4 / +0.5 / +0.4 mm tolerance, nominal drawn), Fuji 30.5Omron A22 (22.3), 25 and 30 mm pushbuttons and pilot lights; Fuji 30 mm metal pushbutton (30.5)slidepushbutton-hole-gauge-22p3*

Where the files are

Other publishers' files are linked, not hosted. "verify" = check the license at the link before commercial use.

APEMAV series anti-vandal and security pushbuttons: panel cut-out 16.2, 19.2, 22.2 (and 24.2) mm, maximum panel thickness by model, minimum 1 mmwebMaker datasheet; numbers only
APEMAV0630 page: 'Panel cut-out: 16.2 mm', 'Panel thickness: 1 to 6 mm max.', hex nut 19 across flatswebMaker datasheet page (distributor copy); numbers only
APEM (RS Components listing)APEM 1200 series pushbutton (1213C): panel cutout 12.2 mm, M12 x 0.75 bush threadwebDistributor listing; numbers only
OmronA22NE-P / A22Z-R datasheet page 26 'Mounting to the Panel': hole 22.3 (+0.4 / 0), 25 (+0.5 / 0), 30 (+0.4 / 0) mm, panel thicknesswebMaker datasheet page (distributor copy); numbers only
Fuji Electric (title as read in the file)30 mm metal pushbuttons: panel cutout 30.5 mm, location hole 4.8 and 33 mm, panel thickness 1.0 to 6.0 mmwebMaker datasheet (distributor copy); numbers only
BulginPush button switches section: 7000 series panel cut-outs 25.0 and 27.2 x 22.3 mm, thickness 0.8-2.5 / 0.8-5.0 mm; industry mounting diameters 12, 16, 19, 22, 25, 27 mmwebMaker catalog pages (distributor copy); numbers only
OmronOmron A22 / A16 / A30 pushbutton product pages (CAD per part from the maker)webMaker site; CAD per part from the maker
APEMAPEM AV and 1200 series product pages (3D models per part)webMaker site; CAD per part from the maker

Free files

★ Free files 2 parts. Generated by Xem Studio from the standard; threads are plain cylinders at major diameter. CC BY 4.0. index.json

pushbutton-hole-gauge-12p2-16p2-19p2-22p2hole gauge plate, 99.8 x 34.2 x 3 mm, four round holes at the APEM panel cut-outs 12.2, 16.2, 19.2 and 22.2 mm (APEM 1200 and AV series), smallest first, 6 mm between hole edges and 6 mm of plate round the largest hole; no anti-rotation notch is drawn; plate thickness and spacing are Xem choicesSTEP · STL
pushbutton-hole-gauge-22p3-25-30-30p5hole gauge plate, 137.8 x 42.5 x 3 mm, four round holes at 22.3 mm (Omron A22), 25 mm and 30 mm (Omron) and 30.5 mm (Fuji Electric 30 mm sheet), nominal diameters (the makers' tolerances are +0.4 / 0, +0.5 / 0, +0.4 / 0 on the Omron holes), smallest first, 6 mm between hole edges and 6 mm of plate round the largest hole; no notch or location hole is drawn; plate thickness and spacing are Xem choicesSTEP · STL
Let your AI pull this. Add https://xemstudio.com/mcp to Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor or any MCP client (free, no account, one minute) and it can look up exact sizes, mating fits and free STEP/STL from every chat.
Set it up →

Plain text: sheet.txt · JSON: /api/geometry?object=pushbutton-pilot-light-panel-holes

Pushbutton and pilot light panel holes: 12.2, 16.2, 19.2, 22.2, 22.3, 25, 30 and 30.5 mm, panel thickness + hole gauges, isometric render of a generated part
Render of pushbutton-hole-gauge-22p3-25-30-30p5 from the free STEP; not to scale.

Fits with

Questions

What hole does a 22 mm pushbutton need?

Omron prints 22.3 mm (+0.4 / 0) for the A22 and APEM prints 22.2 mm for its 22 mm AV series. Panel thickness 1 to 5 mm (Omron) or up to 11 mm (APEM, model-dependent).

What hole does a 16 mm pushbutton need?

APEM AV: 16.2 mm (.637 in), panel 1 to 6 mm, hex nut 19 mm across flats.

What hole for a 30 mm pushbutton?

Omron prints 30 mm (+0.4 / 0) for panels of 1 to 3 mm; a Fuji Electric 30 mm sheet prints 30.5 mm with a 4.8 x 33 mm location hole, panel 1.0 to 6.0 mm.